Announcing the Lenawee Leadership, Stubnitz and Incito Awards

The Lenawee Community Foundation has made the difficult decision to postpone its 2022 Annual Meeting. The Annual Meeting typically brings together local individuals, organizations and businesses while recognizing the award winners and the work of donors, volunteers and supporters. community partners. Although disappointed that this special gathering will not take place this year, we look forward to celebrating our 25th anniversary in September 2022, and there is still much to celebrate!

The Lenawee Leadership Award honors an individual or couple who exemplifies the underlying principle that the future of our county will be determined by the quality of their leadership. Formerly known as the Maple Leaf Award, previous recipients continue to be recognized and are listed on the Foundation’s website. The prestigious award has a countywide purpose that reflects the Lenawee Community Foundation’s mission to improve the quality of life in Lenawee County and increase health, happiness, and hope for all of us.

Jackson Baker has been selected to receive the 2022 Lenawee Leadership Award. Baker is a longtime resident and active in many areas of advocacy throughout Lenawee County. He graduated from Tecumseh High School and was co-owner and operator of Baker Brothers from 1986 to 2015. Baker and his wife, Betty, have been married for 34 years and together have raised two children. Baker brings a wealth of experience to his position as councilor and served as mayor of Tecumseh for six years prior to his current term. Baker currently serves on the following boards and committees: Tecumseh Town Center Development Authority, Employee Retirement Board, Chair of the Local Development Funding Authority, and City Council. Tecumseh town government has been a model of consistency for a long time, and the leadership of Jack Baker is most responsible for it. Baker is highly visible and easily accessible to all residents and understands the pulse of the city.

Two other winners were honored by the Lenawee Community Foundation. The Stubnitz Prize and the Incito Prize were awarded when Lenawee Cares was created as a Foundation campaign.

De’Angelo Boone is the 2022 winner of the Stubnitz Prize. The Stubnitz Award is presented annually to an individual or couple who demonstrates exemplary commitment to Lenawee Cares, our community and volunteerism at Lenawee. The award is named in memory of Lenawee philanthropist and businessman Maurice Stubnitz.

Boone is currently employed as the Community Outreach and Volunteer Officer for Habitat for Humanity of Lenawee County and is the author of two books. He is the Founder and Senior Pastor of City of Refuge Ministries International and Founder/Director of the Meal Assistance Program and was instrumental in forming the A3-All About Adrian Resident Coalition. Boone is treasurer of Adrian’s Human Relations Commission and vice chair of the Community Action Agency Advisory Board, and he is a member of the board of directors of ProMedica Charles & Virginia Hickman Hospital and the Lenawee Community Action Agency. He volunteers as a member of the Dominican Sisters of Adrian Resilience Committee and the Southeast Michigan Migrant Resource Council. Boone works tirelessly in our community to raise awareness for diversity, equity and inclusion. It advocates for people who are disenfranchised and isolated from resources and services.

The 2022 Incito Award recipient is William Southard. The Incito Award was established in 2011 to recognize a young person, age 40 or younger, who has established themselves as a community leader and demonstrates a commitment to volunteerism, philanthropy and leadership with Lenawee Cares and other organizations of our community. Southard has been a member of the Lenawee Cares Pillars Club since its inception, and in January 2022, he became a member of the Lenawee Cares Advisory Board. Promoting Lenawee Cares on a daily basis is a real passion.

For the past four years, Southard served as vice president of The Daily Bread of Lenawee County and currently serves as president. Southard is a member of the Old National Bank Association and Community Engagement Committee.

He volunteers with the Knight Fund Grant Committee of the Lenawee Community Foundation and is Co-Chair of the Lenawee County Association of Realtors Committee at Adrian. Southard is a longtime resident of Lenawee County and volunteers his time to help with community efforts. He is a positive influence, a role model for all of us and he makes a difference in our community.

The Lenawee Community Foundation strives to help people create legacies and invest in Lenawee County. You can donate $30 to send Imagination Library books to a preschooler for a year, volunteer, leave 10% in your will or trust to benefit Lenawee, endow annual donations to your favorite nonprofits or make donations or bequests for your hometown. Contact the Foundation to help you create your legacy. Donations and bequests work for Lenawee County. Now and forever.

Additional information about the Lenawee Community Foundation or any of its programs or services can be obtained by calling 517-263-4696.

Cynthia Heady is Director of Development and External Engagement for the Lenawee Community Foundation. Your community foundation helps individuals, businesses and organizations achieve their charitable goals for our community.

For more information on how to get involved with the Lenawee Community Foundation and help build a better community, call 517-263-4696 or contact [email protected]. We look forward to cooperating with you.

Comments are closed.